Sexual Assault

Like many other states, Texas has abandoned the traditional definition of rape. The modern Texas penal code defines non-consensual sexual intercourse as a form of assault known as “sexual assault.” When the accused and the victim are closely related, sexual assault is a first degree felony, which involves a prison sentence ranging between five and 99 years. Additionally, the court can also impose a maximum fine of $10,000. In cases where the parties are not related, offenders face a second degree felony, which is punishable by a prison term lasting between two and 20 years as well as a discretionary fine up to $10,000.


The sexual assault statute also includes a provision for “statutory rape”, which is sexual intercourse with a child age 17 or under. Unlike sexual assault that involves an adult victim, statutory rape does not address the element of consent. This means that consensual sexual intercourse with a child is a punishable offense.

Under certain circumstances, a sex crime is prosecuted under a more serious criminal charge known as “aggravated sexual assault.” Sexual assault that involves a weapon, places the victim in fear for her life, involves a controlled substance known as a “date rape drug”, or is perpetrated upon a very young or very elderly victim is considered aggravated sexual assault. If you are charged with aggravated sexual assault, you will be prosecuted under a first degree felony.


Accusing someone of sexual assault is a serious matter. Unfortunately, innocent people can find themselves wrongfully accused of a sex crime. It is not uncommon for sexual assault allegations to surface in contested divorce cases.

In other cases, pregnant teens accuse a boyfriend of sexual assault rather than admit to engaging in premarital sex. If you are a victim of false charges, you need a committed criminal defense lawyer prepared to fight for justice. I will thoroughly examine the evidence in your case to determine the most effective way to contest the charges against you.